Rolfe Wins, Boiros Takes UMP Modified Title


Dirt Night – UMP Modifieds – Race 6 – August 6, 2018 – Lanier National Speedway

The UMP Modifieds wrapped up their half of the Dirt Night season last night at Lanier with a 100-laps under the lights. Entering the night, Jarrid Boiros held a small points margin over David Krikorian for the UMP title.

Race Summary – After the invert, Russell Berry was able to take the lead on the opening lap of the race, and held onto the top spot for the opening 11 laps. On lap 12, Matt Rolfe was able to work the bottom side to take over, and as the race would go caution free, Rolfe would try to pull away out front. Jarrid Boiros contested early on in the race before dropping behind, while later in the race Krikorian moved up and attempted to chase down Rolfe, but it wasn’t enough. Rolfe would go on to take the victory, his 31st career SARA win.

Race Winner – Matt Rolfe – Started 5th, 89 laps led

Top Five – 2nd Clay Snider, 3rd Jarrid Boiros, 4th Russell Berry, 5th Samuel Roush

Heat Winner – Clay Snider

UMP Points Battle – In the late laps of the race, Krikorian fell short on fuel allowing Boiros to move up into 3rd to secure the UMP Modified championship. Boiros finished the UMP season with 6 starts, 6 top tens, 6 top fives, 2 wins, and 105 laps led.

Overall Points Battle – Clay Snider closed the gap once more in the overall points championship, and will enter next week’s race tied atop the standings with Jarrid Boiros.

Up Next – The season finale for Dirt Night will see the Midgets take on Lanier next Monday night, and it could come down to just one spot on the track to determine the champion.

Dirt Night Series Page
Penalty Box