Raffurty Starts UMP Season Two-For-Two


The UMP Modified Series made their first trip of the season to Lanier last night for a 75-feature event under the lights.

Race Winner – Dillon Raffurty grabbed the lead quickly, and then dominated the race leading 74 laps en route to his 2nd straight win to start the season.

Race Summary – After the Pole Shuffle, Ty Spearman started on the pole but it didn’t last long as Dillon Raffurty used a crossover to take the lead on lap 2. A 42 lap green flag run saw the field spread out and the track slicken up, which allowed Raffurty to pull away. Michael Raffurty joined him up front with a big lead over 3rd, but Dillon was too quick and pulled away to the victory which was sealed by a late caution. The victory for Raffurty is his 21st career win.

Heat Winners – Greg Netherwood, Joe Schaffer Jr., and Ty Spearman each took wins in the three Heat Races, and Davey Scovel scored the win in the B-Main.

Hard Charger – James Allen started back in the 23rd position, and despite being a couple laps down, he was able to finish in the 14th position, gaining 9 spots on the night.

UMP Rookie – Michael Raffurty had a strong race, running in the 2nd position all night for a runner up finish.

Title Fight – Dillon Raffurty’s two wins to start the season puts him on top with a solid points lead over David Krikorian.

Up Next – The UMP Modifieds will Knoxville next week for the first time with a 60-lap A-Main.

UMP Modified Series Division Page
Penalty Box