Raffurty Opens UMP Season With Eldora Victory


With our second dirt night making the move over to Tuesdays this season, the UMP Modified Series hit the track for the first time last night at Eldora for a 50-lap feature event.

Race Winner – Dillon Raffurty capitalized on a mistake by Davey Scovel on lap 22, and would take the lead and the victory, for his 19th career SARA win.

Race Summary – Tim Bills would start on the pole for the A-Main after the Pole Shuffle, and led the opening 6 laps of the race before Scovel got by. Scovel looked solid in the early portion of the race and maintained his lead until lap 22 when he slipped up on the entry of turn one and got up into the wall, allowing Raffurty to dive underneath him and he would come out of turn two with the lead. That was all Raffurty needed, as he would then go on to lead the final 29 laps of the race to open the season with the victory.

Heat Winners – Dillon Raffurty, David Krikorian, and Ty Spearman each had to work their forward to take the win in their respective Heat Races. With 28 cars attempting to qualify for 24 spots, a B-Main was needed to set the rest of the field, and Joe Schaffer Jr. would take the B-Main win.

Hard Charger – Newcomer Tucker Scanlon started deep in the field from the 21st spot, and ended up finishing 9th, gaining 12 positions.

UMP Rookie – Josh Kotten had a solid night, running just outside the top five for most of the night before moving up into a 5th place finish in the final laps.

Title Fight – The win for Raffurty to open the season puts him at the top of the standings by 3 points over 2nd.

Up Next – The UMP Modifieds will head to Lanier for Race 2 with a 60-lap feature event.

UMP Modified Series Division Page
Penalty Box