Krikorian Launches Ahead For Limaland Victory


The UMP Modified Series visited the Limaland Motorsports Park for the first time on Tuesday night, with a 75-lap feature event for the division’s sixth race of the season.

Race Winner – David Krikorian took his time working his way to the front, and then set sail as he went on to pick up his 31st career SARA victory.

Race Summary – For the second night in a row, Russell Berry would use the Pole Shuffle handicap to start on the pole, and led the opening 7 laps of the race before Darrell Hamlin made his way under Berry for the lead. After an early restart, Hamlin jumped back out into the lead, but behind him, David Krikorian was starting to work his way to the front after being handicapped back to 7th. Krikorian used the low lane to work his way up to 2nd, and then when Hamlin slipped up, Krikorian took over the lead on lap 26. For the remainder of the race, “DK” began pulling away, and then held off the field on a late race restart and was able to go on to pick up his first UMP Modified win.

Heat Winners – Krikorian also won his Heat Race, while Clay Snider joined him as the other Heat Race winner.

Hard Charger – Scott Dunlap started back in 12th after issues in his Heat Race, and climbed up to a 7th place finish, gaining 5 spots on the night.

UMP Rookie – Tim Bills once again was the the highest “rookie” in the race with his 5th place finish.

Title Fight – With the victory, Krikorian extends his points lead up to 24 points over Clay Snider, with only two races remaining on the schedule.

Up Next – The UMP Modifieds will be off for the final time next week before returning in two weeks. The Dirt Super Late Models will take over next week for their final Triple Crown event as a part of the EPYK Challenge Week.

UMP Modified Series Division Page
Penalty Box