Krikorian Closes UMP Championship Season With Victory


The UMP Modified Series wrapped up their 2018 Spring Season on Tuesday night with a 75-lap A-Main at Lanier.

Title Fight – Entering the night, David Krikorian had already clinched the championship the week prior, but that wouldn’t stop him from going on to pick up the victory to extend his points lead out to 55 points to add his 2nd career SARA championship. His season consisted of 2 wins, 7 top fives, 8 top tens, and 105 laps led in the eight race season. Congrats to David Krikorian on the championship!

Race Winner – David Krikorian took the lead from Russell Berry on lap 21, and pulled away to score his second victory of the season.

Race Summary – Russell Berry would use the Pole Handicap to start at the front of the field, and looked strong out front to lead the opening 20 laps of the race. But as the main groove slicked off, David Krikorian and Jarrid Boiros were putting on the pressure behind him. Krikorian made the move first into the lead on lap 21, and then DK and Boiros began pulling away. As the race would go green-to-checkers on the night with no cautions, Krikorian would slowly start to inch away and took the checkered flag by over 1.7 seconds.

Heat Winners – David Krikorian and Jarrid Boiros picked up the Heat Race victories.

Hard Charger – Ty Spearman started back in the 9th position and worked his way forward to finish 4th, gaining 5 spots on the night.

UMP Rookie – Evan Sorensen made his first start of the season and ran around the top five all night before finishing 6th. Despite missing the race, Tim Bills had enough points to secure the Rookie of the Season honors for the division.

UMP Modified Series Division Page
Penalty Box