Bodio Wins Midget Championship, Robinson Wins Race


The 2018 Spring Season for the Dirt Open Wheel Series and the Midgets came to a close last night as a part of Championship Week at Lanier, with a 50 lap A-Main.

Title Fight – Dave Bodio entered the night up by 11 points over Derek Robinson, and would need to finish 3rd or better on the night to secure the title. Bodio worked his way forward and finished in the runner-up spot, scoring enough points to hang on and clinch the championship. His season consisted of 3 wins, 5 top fives, 7 top tens, and 117 laps led, in addition to winning the 410 Non-Wing Sprint Triple Crown with 3 wins. Congrats to Dave Bodio on his championship!

Race Winner – Derek Robinson did what he needed to do to try and get as many points as possible by winning the race, the 25th of his career, but would come up 7 points short in the championship.

Race Summary – Zack Passen took the race lead early on lap two but faced pressure early and often as the two championship contenders had joined him at the front of the field. Passen looked solid up front while the two battled behind him, but later in the race, shortly after a lap 38 restart, Robinson began working the bottom of the track. Robinson would throw a slider and made it stick to take the lead. One last restart would happen on lap 46, and Robinson got the jump and held on for his 2nd win of the season.

Heat Winners – Dave Bodio and Derek Robinson each moved up from 3rd to win their respective Heat Races.

Hard Charger – Josh Kotten started last on the field after issues in his Heat Race, and recovered to finish in the top spot, gaining 7 spots on the night.

Open Wheel Series Division Page
Penalty Box