Schaffer Wins Battle, Bills Wins War For 2nd Title


The 2017 Summer Season Championship Week got underway on Monday night at the Lanier Speedway with the Callaway Investments Sportsman Series running 125 laps in their season finale. Tim Bills entered the night atop the standings by 29 points over Joe Schaffer Jr., but with little margin for error for Bills, the title wouldn’t be decided until the checkered flag flew.

Race Winner – In the early laps of the race, Brandon Wilkinson led the field up until lap 22 when Conner Blaise would make his way into the lead. As the field continued to settle in, Joe Schaffer Jr. charged to the front and took the lead away from Blaise on lap 36. From there, the race would remain caution free for the entire 125 laps, allowing Schaffer to pull away out front and never looked back. Schaffer did just about as much as he could on the night to score maximum points, qualifying second, having a clean race, leading laps, and he would go on to pick up the victory, his 2nd on the season for his 32nd career SARA victory.

Pole Award – Colin Allman beat out Joe Schaffer Jr. by .001 seconds to pick up his 2nd career SARA pole with a lap of 14.756 seconds.

Hard Charger – Clay Snider qualified 12th, but then battled right around the top five all night and was running 5th on the last lap before dropping to 7th, but still gained 5 spots on the night.

Rookie of the Race – Kyle Souza ran in the back half of the top ten all night long and finished in 8th as the top rookie. This finish capped off his season with Rookie of the Season honors, scoring a total of 77 out a possible 80 rookie points.

Title Fight – While Schaffer Jr. did almost everything he could do to score max points, Tim Bills also did what he needed to do which was to stay out of trouble. Bills would end the night on the podium in 3rd, which was enough to lock up the championship by 22 points. The championship for Bills is his 2nd Sportsman Series title, with 4 poles, 4 wins, 9 top fives, 9 top tens, and 192 laps. Congrats to Tim Bills, the 2017 Summer Season Callaway Investments Sportsman Series champion!

Callaway Investments Sportsman Series Division Page
Penalty Box