Rolfe & Rafferty Earn Eldora Open Wheel Wins


For the second straight week, both cars in the Open Wheel Series were on track for a double header event at the Eldora Speedway last night. The UMP Modifieds started the night with a 50-lap feature, followed by a 40-lap race for the 360 Non-Wing Sprint cars.

UMP Race Winner – Matt Rolfe took the lead early and pulled away for his first UMP Modified victory, and 30th career SARA win.

UMP Race Summary – Ty Spearman led the field to green after the Pole Handicap and got the jump out tho the lead before the first and only caution came out on lap 4. After the restart, Spearman began feeling pressure from behind from Matt Rolfe who began looking to the inside and Rolfe gained the advantage on lap 14. As Spearman continued to battle and hold off the rest of the field, Rolfe pulled away over the final 37 laps by over 3 seconds for the victory.

360NW Race Winner – Bobby Rafferty took the lead away with less than 10 laps to go and picked up his 2nd win of the season.

360NW Race Summary – Ty Spearman also started up front for the 360 Non-Wing Sprint race but only led the first lap before Derek Robinson took the lead away. Robinson held the lead for most of the race over Bobby Rafferty by a handful of car lengths, but after a lap 28 restart the battle heated up and Rafferty used the outside groove to gain momentum and used a slider to take the late, while Robinson would get into the wall a couple laps later. Rafferty went on to pick up his 2nd career SARA victory after leading the final 9 laps.

UMP Modifieds Title Fight – Dillon Raffurty missed the event, which hands the points lead over to Derek Robinson after four events by just 4 points over Chris Watkins.

360 Non-Wing Sprints Title Fight – Dave Bodio finished in the runner up spot and extended his points lead up to 24 points after five races.

Combined Points Title Fight – Derek Robinson takes over the combined points lead, with the top three overall separated by just 8 points, with Dante Curtis 6 back, and Watkins at 8 back.

Up Next – Another double header is on tap for the series as both divisions will travel together to Eldora.

Open Wheel Series Division Page
Penalty Box

360NW Results

UMP Results

Combined Standings