Raffurty’s Late Pass Wins The Race and The Title


The DonutsDesigns.com Open Wheel Series wrapped up their 2017 Fall Season on Monday night with a 65-lap feature event for the UMP Modified division.

Race Winner – Dillon Raffurty made his way by David Krikorian with just two laps to go and picked up the victory, his 5th UMP win of the season.

Race Summary – David Krikorian took over the race lead in the early laps, and after a lap 9 restart he would look to pull away as much as he could during the green flag run to the finish. However he couldn’t pull away far enough as Dillon Raffurty chased him down in the closing laps, and Raffurty made his way under Krikorian with just two laps to go. Krikorian gave it one more shot but it wasn’t enough as Raffurty went on to pick up the victory.

UMP Modified Title Fight – Dillon Raffurty wrapped up the UMP Modified season with his 5th win in 6 races, which was more than enough to take home the championship by 47 points. Congrats to Dillon Raffurty, the 2017 Fall Season UMP Modified champion, with a season that consisted of 5 wins, 5 top fives, 5 top tens, and 190 laps led during the 6-race season.

Combined Points Title Fight – The overall combined championship would be much closer and came down to a single point to decide the champion. With the final pass for the win, Raffurty would score enough points to overtake Derek Robinson in the combined standings, and would come out on top by 1 single point for the championship. Raffurty’s combined points title consisted of 9 starts, 8 wins, 9 top fives and top tens.

*Results note: At the conclusion of the race, David Krikorian disconnected from the race crossing the finish line on the final lap. iRacing scored him 1 lap down, however when SARA officials reviewed the finish, Krikorians car crossed the finish line in 2nd before disconnected, and has been officially scored in 2nd place.

Open Wheel Series Division Page
Penalty Box


Combined Standings