Raffurty Dominates in UMP Debut at Eldora


On Monday night, the DonutsDesigns.com Open Wheel Series debuted the UMP Modified into the lineup with a 50 lap feature event at Eldora, with 32 cars attempting to qualify for the 24-car field.

Race Winner – Dillon Raffurty quickly jumped up to the front of the field, and then dominated the race for his first career SARA victory.

Race Summary – After the Pole Shuffle, Joe Schaffer Jr. led the field to the green flag, but it was Dillon Raffurty who quickly moved up to 2nd and threw a slider on lap 4 to take over the top spot. After a couple of early cautions, the field would run the final 30 laps of the race caution-free, allowing Raffurty to pull away by over 7 seconds, as he lapped up to the 8th position. Raffurty went on to lead 47 laps to pick up the win. Schaffer, David Krikorian, Greg Netherwood, and Derek Robinson rounded out the top five.

Heat Winners – With 32 cars attempting to qualify, four heats were run to set the lineup. Dave Bodio, Trevor Edwards, Raffurty, and Schaffer each won their heats, and Josh Kotten was able to take the win in the 15-lap B-Feature.

Hard Charger – Kenneth Drake transferred out of the B-Feature to start 20th, and moved up 14 spots to finish 6th.

UMP Modified Title Fight – With the dominating win, Raffurty leads the UMP Modified standings over Schaffer by 4 points.

Combined Points Title Fight – After strong runs in both the 360 Non-Wing Sprints in Week 1, and the UMP Modifieds this week, Kenneth Drake leads the overall standings by 7 points over Derek Robinson.

Up Next – Next week the Open Wheel Series switches back over to the 360 Non-Wing Sprints for a 40-lap feature at Volusia in Week 3.

Open Wheel Series Division Page
Penalty Box


Combined Standings