Krikorian Doubles Up To Earn First Championship


The 2017 Summer Season Championship Week continued last night with the Sprint Series returning to the Eldora Speedway for double features to crown the division’s first champion. Entering the night, David Krikorian led Kenneth Drake by just 8 points atop the standings.

Race 1 Winner – Kenneth Drake started at the front of the field until lap 9 when newcomer Davey Scovel took over the lead on lap 10. Scovel looked to be in control out front until the final restart with just two laps to go when Drake threw a slider getting up in front of Scovel, but the crossover put him back in the lead. But as they both entered turn three on the bottom, they would make contact sending Scovel around. Drake would cross the checkers first, but in post-race review the win would be handed down to David Krikorian who would benefit for the late race contact for his 3rd win of the season.

Race 2 Winner – After an invert from Race 1, Clay Snider would start at the front of the field for Race 2 and led the opening 18 laps before Krikorian worked his way up from 7th to take the lead away. From there, “DK” didn’t let the pressure get to him from behind as he faced challenges from Derek Robinson, Scovel, and Drake, but it wasn’t enough and Krikorian would go on to pick up the victory, for his 27th career SARA win.

Pole Award – With two races on the night, the series would run Time Trials to set the grid for Race 1, and Davey Scovel picked up the pole with a lap of 15.002 seconds for a new track record.

Hard Charger – Darrell Hamlin and Scott Dunlap each gained 7 spots in Race 1, and then Derek Robinson charged up 9 positions in Race 2.

Title Fight – After picking up both victories on the night, David Krikorian would leave Eldora with a 38-point advantage to score the championship. The title for Krikorian is his first career SARA championship, with 4 wins, 9 top fives, 11 top tens, and 51 laps led. Congrats to David Krikorian, the 2017 Summer Season Sprint Series champion!

Sprint Series Division Page
Penalty Box

Race 1 Results

Race 2 Results