Schaffer Wins In Milwaukee To Earn Triple Crown


This past Thursday night, the TUNDRA Super Sim Series presented by LOKOTOCO Designs ran the third and final Triple Crown race of their season with the Back 40 Wraps 100 at The Milwaukeee Mile.

SARATV Broadcast Replay: Click Here

Race Winner – Joe Schaffer Jr. took over the race lead on lap 26 and led the final 75 laps to pick up his 41st SARA victory.

Race Summary – Keith Medeiros led the field to the green flag after the invert before a lap 1 caution slowed things down early. After the restart, Ryan Matthews took over out front, but behind him Joe Schaffer Jr. was chasing him down. Schaffer made his move on lap 26 and took over the lead. After that first caution, the race would go caution-free to the finish, which allowed Scaffer to extend his lead up front. Jimmy Mullis moved up into the 2nd spot but without any caution, Schaffer was able to maintain a 2.5 second gap and went on to pick up his first win of the season.

Pole Award – Tim Bills picked up his 46th career SARA pole with a lap of 28.389 seconds.

Hard Charger – Matt Rolfe moved up from 16th to finish 6th, while Michael Goddard moved up from 24th to 14th, both gaining 10 positions on the night.

Rookie of the Race – After starting up front, Keith Medeiros was able to hang inside the top five and finished 5th as the highest Rookie in the race.

Triple Crown – Joe Schaffer Jr. entered the night leading the Triple Crown standings and sealed the deal with the win to become the Triple Crown champion.

EPYK Challenge Week – The event also marked the final race of the weeklong battle, and at the end of the night Matt Rolfe used his 6th place finish to score enough points to jump over Darrell Hamlin, and Rolfe was crowned the EPYK Champion.

Title Fight – Schaffer’s victory cuts away at the points lead just a little, but Jimmy Mullis’ runner up finish keeps his point lead at 25 points with two races left on the season.

Up Next – Next week the series heads back up to New England to the Stafford Motor Speedway for the Oldskoolz Motorsports 150.

TUNDRA Super Sim Series Division Page
Penalty Box