Hamlin Handed Win, Spearman Wins Triple Crown


This past Wednesday night, the SK Modifieds ran their third and final Triple Crown event of the season at the Stafford Motor Speedway with a 125-lap feature event.

Race Summary – The race started off with a long green flag run that continued all the way through lap 55 before the first yellow, and Ty Spearman was out front for all of them after taking the lead on the opening lap. After the restart, Kyle Souza settled back into the 2nd spot, and spent the final half of the race trailing right on the back bumper of Spearman. As the laps closed down, Spearman slipped up out of turn four with four laps to go, allowing Souza to get to his inside, but when the two got into the next set of corners, contact was made. As a result Spearman would end up sliding thru the grass, and 3rd place driver Joe Schaffer Jr. getting collected as well. Souza would take the lead and crossed the checkered flag in first, however in post-race review it was determined he was at fault for the incident. The penalty handed the victory over to Darrell Hamlin who was in the right spot at the right time to take the win.

Triple Crown Standings – Despite the late spin, Ty Spearman was credited with a 2nd place finish, making it three runner up finishes in the three Triple Crown events which was enough to score him as the Triple Crown Champion for the SK Modifieds.

EPYK Challenge Week – At the end of Wednesday night, Darrell Hamlin took the lead in the EPYK Challenge Week by just one point, and would be forced to try and hold onto it in Thursday’s SLM event.

Up Next – The Street Stocks return to the track next week for their second event of the season at Irwindale, with only two races left on the schedule.

Sportsman Series Division Page
Penalty Box

Triple Crown Standings

Triple Crown ChampionTy Spearman63
2Joe Schaffer Jr.143
3Keith Jeffery203
4Matt Rolfe213
5Russell Berry233
6Kyle Souza283
7Drew Kreibich383
8Mark Welch433
9David Krikorian132
10Donald Clark152
11Darrell Hamlin11
12Conner Blaise31
-Kyle Odaynik31
14Colin Allman41
15Jarrid Boiros51
16Clay Snider61
17Stephen Janus71
18Brad Carpenter81
-Ian Layne81
20Dave Bodio91
21Russell Charneski101
22Matt Eddy121
23Brian Chambliss131
24Brandon Norris151
25Mark Royer161
26Scott Trantham181