Challiner Retakes Points Lead With Oxford Win


On Thursday night, the series made the trip from a large 1-mile track down to the 3/8-mile short track of Oxford Plains Speedway for the 150. 40 cars would attempt to qualify for the 6th race of the season with 30 cars starting the feature event.

Race Winner – Christian Challiner took the lead away from Seth DeMerchant on lap 12 and looked to be well on his way to an easy victory. He nearly gave it away though on a restart around halfway when he spun the tires and then slid up in turn one, leaving the door open for Matt Rolfe to try to make a move but Challiner would keep up the momentum and kept the lead. Later in the race, he had to hold off Matt Kocher on a couple restarts but strong launches on the restarts and the track position paid off as Challiner would hold on to pick up his 3rd win of the season, leading 137 laps on the night.

Pole Award – David Krikorian set a new track record with a lap of 14.215 seconds, for his 25th career SARA pole.

Hard Charger – Kyle Souza had to use a provisional to make the back of the field which reverted back to his lap time to get in the show, and he took advantage of that and climbed up to a 9th place finish, gaining 19 spots on the night.

Rookie of the Race – Christian Challiner was the top Rookie with his 3rd win, and moved into a tie with Christian Pedersen in the Rookie Standings after 6 races.

Title Fight – Christian Challiner’s victory allows him to retake the points lead, but with drop races coming into play he should continue to lead the standings but the gap behind him will close.

Other Notables – Last season’s top Rookie and championship contender, finally broke through this season for a good run as Matt Kocher finished 2nd. Christian Pedersen started deep in the field and climbed up to finish 6th. Adam Benefiel and Dallas Pataska were two drivers that had run well this season but failed to qualify for the race, however once drop races are factored in they should jump back up in points.

The Button Box Shop Super Series Division Page
Penalty Box