Hudson Locks Into Mudsummer Meltdown With Win


On Wednesday, the Late Model Series returned to the Eldora Speedway for the second time this season with a Mudsummer Meltdown starting spot on the line. The winner of the event would lock themselves into our big dirt event at the end of next month.

Race Winner – Travis McKinney’s luck continued with the Pole Shuffle as he once again drew lucky #1 and he used that to lead the opening 41 laps of the night. But it was Tyler Hudson that chased down the leader and made his move to the top spot on lap 42 by working his way under McKinney for the lead, grabbing the position away just before a caution flag flew. From there, Hudson held onto the lead and went on pick up his 2nd career win, locking himself into the Mudsummer Meltdown.

Heat Winners – Joe Schaffer Jr. moved up from 4th to pick up the Heat Race 1 victory, while Tyler Hudson also moved up from 3rd in Heat Race 2 for the win.

Hard Charger – Cameron Higgins made his first SARA start and moved up 9 spots to finish 4th, while Ben Nile and Mason Dunn also each gain 9 positions to finish in the top ten and each earned the Hard Charger award.

Title Fight – It was en early night for Ty Spearman as he was involved in a couple incidents, but he holds on to his points lead after 6 races so far this season.

Other Notables – Dante Curtis matched his career best SARA finish in 2nd. Can-Am’s Bruce Perry made his 2nd dirt start with us and rebounded from early incidents to finish 5th. Ben Nile (7th) and Mason Dunn (9th) both scored their first official dirt top tens.

Late Model Series Division Page
Penalty Box