Smith Wins Race, Breeding Grabs Championship



The RB Performance Super Late Model Series finished off the 2014 Q1 Season with a 150 lap event at the Irwindale Speedway. The series has seen some spectacular racing all season long, and most of the races had been very clean. But tonight’s season finale definitely didn’t go very smoothly for most drivers.

Cam Manis started the night off by picking up the pole position, and led the field to the green flag. Points leader Tyler Breeding would start 2nd on the night, with other front runners such as Heath Smith, Ty Spearman, James Poleske, and Matt Rolfe all running within the top 5 in the early stages of the race.

Breeding would grab the lead on lap 21 on a restart, but would give up the lead to Smith just 6 laps later on the next restart.

Restarts would be a common thing on the night, with a total of 14 cautions for 65 laps. The field had a hard time settling in at all, which led to just about everyone having some sort of damage on all of their cars.

Smith would lead until lap 80, before Breeding would make the pass for the lead. But as the two battled hard for the top spot, they would make contact which would put Breeding into the wall in front of the field.

From here on out, it would be Smith that would keep control, holding off the field on the remaining restarts. Smith would go on to take the checkered flag, picking up his 3rd win of the season. Manis would have a strong run after troubles early in the race, to finish 2nd, which would also propel him into 2nd in the points. James Linkiewicz would hang near the front all night long and eventually brought it home 3rd, with Ray Farlow and Clay Snider rounding out the top 5.

Despite Breeding’s 12th place finish, which ends up being a drop race, he would go on to pick up the 2014 Season 1 – RB Performance Super Late Model Series Championship, his first career SARA championship.

Breeding’s championship run consisted of  1 pole, 3 wins, 7 top 5’s, 8 top 10’s, 333 laps led (most in the series).

For the full results and standings from tonight’s race, click HERE.