Brooks Bests The Field at Iowa



16 drivers brought their cars out for the Sportsman Street Stock Series’ week 3 event at the Iowa Speedway. This would be the series’ first time visiting the speedway and there would be plenty of action throughout the field in the 50 lap event.

Justin Brooks picked up his 3rd straight pole in the series, as he beat out the 15 other drivers during the 10 minute open qualifying session using a little drafting help to set the fast time. He would lead the field to the green flag while everyone else would search for somewhere to run in the early going. Adam Jordan held onto the 2nd spot for a number of laps as he held off Matt Rolfe, before Brian Tedeschi was able to get a run and pass both drivers in one lap to move up to the runner up position. Kenny Lindsley also worked his way towards the front as he would work his way into the top 3 as the run went on.

Just 3 cautions would fly during the race, which would set up plenty of action on restarts, as some drivers would run the bottom while others ran up high and even 3-wide. The drivers that ran within the top 10 all night shifted positions on what seemed to be every lap, while even drivers that were outside of the top were all running side by side and 3 wide all the way through the finish. The track provided plenty of grooves for drivers to race side by side on.

But back up front, while Lindsley and Tedeschi both made charges at the lead, neither one could get by Brooks who went on to pick up his first Street Stock victory and first win of the season. Lindsey and Tedeschi finished in 2nd and 3rd respectively as they also battled each other while pursuing the lead. Rolfe finished 4th just behind the top 3, and Jordan recovered for a 5th place finish after finding trouble earlier in the run. With Rolfe finishing one spot ahead of Jordan, he extended his slim points lead to 4 points.

  1. Justin Brooks
  2. Kenny Lindsley
  3. Brian Tedeschi
  4. Matt Rolfe
  5. Adam Jordan
  6. Clay Snider
  7. Scott Hutchison
  8. Thomas Bennett
  9. Scott Dunlap
  10. Mike Belanger
  11. Justin Andrews
  12. Ken Belanger
  13. Arrick Jazynka
  14. Chalres Denny
  15. Brian Gavin
  16. Daniel Haaser

Next week the series heads to the Irwindale Speedway which will again be the series’ first visit to that track.

For full results and standings, click HERE.