Rolfe Breaks Free For Volusia Triple Crown Victory


On Tuesday, the Dirt Super Late Models took over for their first Triple Crown event of the season as a part of the UMP Modified Series, with a 100-lap feature event.

Race Summary – Matt Rolfe benefited from the Pole Shuffle random invert to start on the pole, and quickly jumped out to the lead. As he looked to pull away, an intense battle was shaping up behind him in second. Clay Snider and James Ray battled for a number of laps, before Chris Watkins moved up to challenge for a while. Eventually it was Tim Bills that was able to dethrone Snider for second but it took over 70 laps. Bills attempted to chase down Rolfe as the race would go green the entire race, but the gap was too big and Rolfe would lead all 100 laps for the victory.

Triple Crown Standings – Matt Rolfe opens up the Triple Crown series with a win and the points lead, and will look to hold onto it when the Dirt SLM returns in a few weeks.

Up Next – The UMP Modified Series will return to regular season points racing with their 4th race of the season at Eldora.

UMP Modified Series Division Page
Penalty Box

Triple Crown Standings

Updated as of Round 7
1Cody Erdmann192
2Joseph King192
3Riley Stenjem101
4J.R. Hager101
5Justin Collison101
6Brian Tedeschi91
7Stan Bragg Jr.81
8Austin Nigh81
9Casey Kelley71
10Kyle Casper71
11Christopher Wood861