Raffurty Scores The Victory In Volusia


On Wednesday night, the Dirt Late Model Series took on the Volusia Speedway Park for the second race of their season, with a 75-lap feature event.

Race Winner – For the second time this week, Dillon Raffurty quickly made his way to the front of the field early in the race and went on to dominate, picking up his 2nd career SARA victory.

Race Summary – After a crazy jumbled up initial start to to the race, Bruce Perry inherited the lead and held onto it for the first 15 laps. A restart on lap 12 allowed Dillon Raffurty to move up into second, and then he made his move under Perry on lap 16 to take over the race lead. Throughout the first half, Perry was able to stay with Raffurty for a while on short runs, but later in the race when the track slicked off, Raffurty had the advantage and continued to pull away. He would go on to lead the final 60 laps on his way to the victory. Perry would hold off Joe Schaffer Jr. and Matt Rolfe late in the race, and Davey Scovel rounded out the top five.

Heat Winners – Dillon Raffurty, Greg Netherwood, and Austin Jones each picked up Heat Race wins, and James Ray picked up the B-main win to advance to the feature.

Hard Charger – Logan Christensen started back in the 19th spot and worked his way into the top ten late to finish 8th, gaining 11 spots.

Title Fight – Matt Rolfe recovered from the lap 1 wreck to score a top five finish, and holds onto the points lead over Chris Watkins by 10 points.

Up Next – Next week the Dirt Late Model Series will head to the Williams Grove Speedway for a 75-lap feature under the lights.

Late Model Series Division Page
Penalty Box


Combined Standings