LaDuke & Medeiros Win, Sorensen Crowned Contender Champ


Davis Chassis Works Contender Series – Super Late Models – Round 12 – August 13, 2018 – Lanier National Speedway

The first season of the Contender Series came to a close last night with a pair of 200-lap features as once again over 30 cars would show up to compete at Lanier. Entering the night, Evan Sorensen had already clinched the title, but there was plenty to race for in both races.

Race 1 Summary – Justin LaDuke set the fast time in Time Trials and showed plenty of speed early in Race 1 as he pulled away. But after a lap 75 caution, LaDuke would have his hands full for the rest of the race as Jarrid Boiros began to challenge. The two ran nose-to-tail over the final 125 laps, with Boiros making a few attempts at taking the lead away in the bottom groove, but couldn’t quite make it work as LaDuke was able to prevail each time. LaDuke would go on to lead all 200 laps, although it wasn’t that easy, to pick up his 2nd win of the season. Boiros, Matt Eddy, Brian Helm, and Cody Dunn rounded out the top five.

Race 2 Summary – In Race 2, it was a similar story for Keith Medeiros who jumped out to the early lead in the first half of the race over Ryan Doucette. But in the second half, Gareth Gonder was making a charge and slowly reeling in Medeiros for the lead and closed to within a few car lengths by the last 40 laps of the race. Gonder would also post a couple attempts at taking the lead away from the bottom groove, but it was Medeiros that fended him off from the outside groove. Medeiros went on to lead all 200 laps for his 2nd victory of the season as well. Evan Sorensen, Doucette, Derek Robinson and Gonder rounded out the top five.

Hard Chargers – Matt Eddy & Michael Goddard (Race 1, +6 pos.), Evan Sorensen (Race 2, +6 pos.).

Pole Winner – Justin LaDuke (13.417 seconds)

Points Battle – Evan Sorensen finished out his Contender Series championship campaign with a second place finish at Lanier, and ultimately won the title by 31 points over second place. Sorensen’s championship consisted of 11 starts, 10 top fives, 11 top tens, 4 wins, and 462 laps led.

Contender Series Division Page
Penalty Box
[su_lightbox src=”″ ] Race 1 Results[/su_lightbox][su_lightbox src=”″ ] Race 2 Results[/su_lightbox]