Bills Endures The Pressure For Charlotte Victory


The UMP Modified Series took on the Dirt Track at Charlotte for their penultimate race of the season on Tuesday night, with a 75-lap A-Main.

Race Winner – Tim Bills held off multiple charges late in the race from David Krikorian to pick up his 27th career SARA victory.

Race Summary – Tim Bills benefitted from the Pole Handicap which put him at the front of the field to start the race. Early on he pulled out to a comfortable lead, but later in the race as the track slicked off, he would back up to the rest of the field. David Krikorian waited patiently for as long as he could, as he too was facing pressure from behind, and would try to make something happen late in the race, but it wasn’t enough. Despite a three wide attempt in turn three on the final lap, Bills would hang on to pick up his 2nd win of the season.

Heat Winners – Tim Bills and Derek Robinson picked up the two Heat Race wins.

Hard Charger – Russell Berry started deep in the field from the 14th position and finished with a solid top five, gaining 9 positions.

UMP Rookie – With the win, Tim Bills locks up the Rookie of the Season honors for the UMP Modifieds.

Title Fight – Despite coming up one position short on the night for the win, David Krikorian secured enough points to clinch the UMP Modified championship.

Up Next – Next week the UMP Modified Series will wrap up their season at Lanier with a 75-lap feature.

UMP Modified Series Division Page
Penalty Box