Edwards Closes The Gap With Oxford Win


The Callaway Investments Sportsman Series ran their penultimate race of the season on Tuesday night with a 100-lap feature event at the Oxford Plains Speedway.

Race Winner – Trevor Edwards took over the race lead from Michael Baxter on lap 11, and for the next 65 laps held off Matt Rolfe for the top spot. Rolfe couldn’t find a way around Edwards and on lap 68 some slight contact sent Rolfe around in front of Clay Snider who was collected as well. The race stayed green however and it allowed Edwards to go uncontested for the final 30 laps of the race to pick up his 2nd Sportsman win of the season, and his 8th career SARA win.

Pole Award – Clay Snider earned his first pole since March of 2014 with a lap of 16.348 seconds.

Hard Charger – N/A – Due to a lower than normal car count, and a full field invert, no drivers were eligible for the Hard Charger bonus points.

Biggest Loser – Michael Baxter earned the invert to the pole for the race and led the opening 10 laps, before falling back and parking it early for an 8th place finish.

Rookie of the Race – 4th Place – Brian Chambliss worked his way up into the top five during the second half of the race and ended up finishing 4th, which locks him in as the 2017 Sprint Season Rookie of the Season for the Sportsman Series.

Title Fight – Matt Rolfe entered the night with a 16-point lead over Trevor Edwards at the top of the standings, but after Rolfe flipped over the outside of turn three, it allowed Edwards to go on for victory. Rolfe was able to recover for a 5th place finish, but Edwards closed the gap down to just 9 points entering next week’s championship race.

Callaway Investments Sportsman Series Division Page
Penalty Box