Bills Hangs On At Five Flags, Increase Points Lead


The penultimate race of the season for the Callaway Investments Sportsman Series saw the division head to Five Flags for a 100 lap feature event, and the final race of the Triple Crown for the series.

Race Winner – The action was non-stop in the race after Matt Rolfe took over the lead early on, as he faced pressure from multiple cars behind him. Joe Schaffer Jr., Tim Bills, and Colin Allman all joined the battle before Bills eventually was the first car to break through as he moved up the inside into the lead. It wasn’t easy for Bills out front though as he too would face pressure from behind with cars staying within a car length as the laps wound down. The final restart on lap 91 allowed Conner Blaise to join the fight, and despite an attempt at a bump-and-run, Bills was able to hang on to score his 4th victory of the season.

Triple Crown – With a 5th place finish, Matt Rolfe secured the Triple Crown championship with a total of 14 points, scoring finishes of 5th, 4th, and 5th in the three Triple Crown races.

Pole Award – Tim Bills added his 4th pole of the season with a lap of 18.386 seconds.

Hard Charger – After starting outside the top ten, Clay Snider gained 4 spots on the night to finish 8th.

Rookie of the Race – Kyle Souza started up front and led laps before dropping back, but recovered to finish 7th as the top Rookie. Souza has also officially locked up the Rookie of the Season honors.

Title Fight – With the victory, Tim Bills once again increases his points lead up to 29 points heading into the season finale, but with no drop races to fall back on next week, the door is still open for Joe Schaffer Jr. or Matt Rolfe to possibly steal the title.

Up Next – The Sportsman Series will head to Lanier next week for a 125-lap feature event that will decide the 2017 Summer Season champion.

Callaway Investments Sportsman Series Division Page
Penalty Box