Raffurty Wins, Bodio Crowned Non-Wing Champion


The DonutsDesigns.com Open Wheel Series make the trip back to Lanier on Monday night as the 360 Non-Wing Sprint cars looked to wrap up their half of the season with a 45-lap season finale.

Race Winner – Dillon Raffurty and Dave Bodio threw sliders back and forth and battled down to the closing laps, with Raffurty hanging on to pick up his 3rd Non-Wing Sprint race of the season.

Race Summary – After the Pole Handicap, Davey Scovel led the field to the green flag and led the opening 16 laps before getting pressure from Dave Bodio. As the two battled and sliders began, the two would make contact resulting in Scovel in the outside wall. After the restart, the battle up front really heated up when Dillon Raffurty chased down Bodio, the the two started swapping the lead multiple times for a handful of laps with sliders going back and forth, before Raffurty eventually gaining the advantage. In the closing laps, Bodio found some grip down in the bottom groove and worked his way back up to fight for the top spot, but Raffurty would hang on before a final caution forced the race to end under the yellow and checkered flags.

Hard Charger – Russell Berry started at the back of the pack, before gaining 8 spots to finish in the 6th position.

360 Non-Wing Sprints Title Fight – Dave Bodio entered the night needing just a 7th place finish to clinch the title, but would go and fight for the win before finishing 2nd on the night, which was enough to take the title. Congrats to Dave Bodio, the 2017 Fall Season DonutsDesigns.com Open Wheel Series champion for the 360 Non-Wing Sprint cars. Bodio’s season consisted of 1 win, 4 top fives, 4 top tens, and 51 laps led during the 6-race season.

Combined Points Title Fight – Derek Robinson’s overall points lead shrinks down to just 12 points, as he’ll look to hang onto it during next week’s finale.

Up Next – The series will remain at Lanier next week for the final race of the season for the UMP Modifieds.

Open Wheel Series Division Page
Penalty Box


Combined Standings