McCollum Powers Past Morgan For Myrtle Beach Win


EPYK Media Super Series
BEST Overhead Doors 140

Super Late Models
November 14, 2019
Myrtle Beach Speedway – 140 Laps
Total Cars: 28

Dreamer Racing Series Pole Award: Alex McCollum – 17.535 seconds
Race Invert – 7 cars

Race Winner: Alex McCollum – Qualified 1st, 37 laps led, 7th career SARA win
Margin of Victory: 2.374 seconds
Top Five: Devon Morgan (2nd), Ty Majeski (3rd), Trevor Edwards (4th), Camaron Hamilton (5th)
Hard Charger: Justin Trombley – 11 positions gained (18th to 7th)

Race Summary

Daniel Pope jumped out into the lead after being inverted to the front, and held on as long as he could out front. He faced pressure throughout the middle stages of the race from Ty Majeski, Alex McCollum, and eventually Devon Morgan who was the first to take away the top spot as the leaders battled 2 and 3 wide out front. Once Morgan got the lead, McCollum followed him through and the two began to battle it out side-by-side for a number of laps before McCollum powered his way into the lead on the bottom. McCollum then held off the field late in the race and pulled away for the victory.

Championship Battle

After 2 races, Alex McCollum uses his victory to take the top spot in the standings, with a 15 point lead over defending champion Devon Morgan.