Rolfe Wins In Attrition Battle At IRP


The Dunleavy’s Modified Series took on the Lucas Oil Raceway (IRP) last night for a 100-lap feature. Matt Rolfe scored his 50th career SARA pole but would have to surrender the top spot after an 8-car invert, bringing Michael Baxter to the front for the green flag. Baxter would feel the pressure early though as Bill Martin and Trevor Edwards were quickly looking for the lead. Martin and Edwards would finally get by, but as they fought, the two cars would tangle on lap 19. This handed the lead over to Matt Rolfe. Rolfe would continue to run out front, as multiple other front runners ran into some kind of trouble as IRP would prove to be tough for the field. One last restart came out with 15 laps to go, and despite some pressure from Edwards in the closing laps, Rolfe would hold on and came around to pick up the checkered flag for his 20th career SARA victory.

Points leader Bill Martin recovered to a podium finish and added to his points lead which is up to 38 points entering next week’s race at South Boston.

Pole Award – Matt Rolfe – 20.200 seconds
Hard Charger – 12th to 4th (+8) – Jason Stewart
Rookie of the Race – 6th Place – Tyler Simmons

Modified Series Division Page
Penalty Box