Edwards Wins Triple Crown, Martin Clinches Title


The Dunleavy’s Modified Series entered the Stafford Motor Speedway with just three races remaining in the season, but by the end of the 100-lap feature, the series title would be clinched while another driver picked up a Triple Crown title. Joe Schaffer Jr. started the night by picking up his 4th pole of the season, and led the field to the green flag. Schaffer led the opening 44 laps while points leader Bill Martin followed in his tire tracks until Schaffer slipped up allowing Martin to take the lead. It looked like Martin might be on his way to his 5th victory of the season, but Trevor Edwards had other plans when he made the pass under Martin for the lead with 26 laps to go, and Edwards went on to pick up his 2nd victory of the season, and the 7th win of his career.

Although Martin dropped out of the lead in the late stages, his 2nd place run would be enough to clinch the Modified Series championship, with two races remaining in the season. In the Triple Crown battle, three drivers entered the night tied for the lead, and with his victory, Trevor Edwards would take the Triple Crown title with a combined 7 points in the three races, and would earn the $15 purse for the title, while Martin, Matt Rolfe, Jason Stewart, and Keith Jeffery would also pick up some cash for being in the top five in Triple Crown points.

Next week the series will head to The Bullring at LVMS for a 125-lap feature event for the first SARA Modified race at the speedway.

Pole Award – Joe Schaffer Jr. – New Track Record 17.636 seconds
Hard Charger – (+2) – Trevor Edwards & Keith Jeffery
Rookie of the Race – 4th Place – Keith Jeffery

Modified Series Division Page
Penalty Box