Robinson Breaks Winless Streak In Lanier Victory


The Dirt Midgets made their first trip to Lanier last night for a 40-lap feature in the Open Wheel Series.

Race Winner – Derek Robinson put the pressure on Dave Bodio out front with less than 10 to go, and was able to capitalize on a mistake that led to Robinson picking up his first SARA win in nearly a year (last win: Feb 23, 2017).

Race Summary – Bruce Perry started on the point after the Pole Shuffle handicap, but it was David Krikorian that took the lead for the first 11 laps. Dave Bodio took over on lap 12 and pulled out to a comfortable lead until Derek Robinson chased him down with about 10 laps to go. Robinson threw a slider, but Bodio would battle back on the bottom but a mistake with 9 to go let Robinson win that battle and he went on to pick up his 24th career SARA win.

Heat Winners – Dillon Raffurty and Dave Bodio won the two heat races.

Hard Charger – Mike King started last on the grid and gained 10 spots for a top five finish.

Title Fight – Robinson’s win puts him at the top of the standings, while Raffurty’s first DNF puts him 15 points back of the lead.

Up Next – The Midgets will have an off-week next week while the 410 Non-Wing Sprint cars will take over for their first Triple Crown event at Eldora.

Open Wheel Series Division Page
Penalty Box