Robinson Takes Legends Win at Irwindale



The NEO Racing News Legends made the trip to the Irwindale Speedway tonight for race number two of the season as they ran a 50 lap event on the Inner configuration. 15 drivers would being their cars into the pits and there would be some tight battles throughout the field all race long.

Jarrid Boiros, former Pro Late Model champion, made his first career Legends start and he would pick up the pole on the night with a time of 16.638 seconds, just a tenth quicker than TJ Graves and Derek Robinson who both ran a time of 16.764. At the drop of the green, it would appear that Boiros and Graves would make contact (or net code) which shot Graves up the track but the green flag would stay out. Robinson would move up to second and began his pursuit of the lead.

As Robinson began to reel in Boiros out front, the rest of the field would shuffle spots every lap. Last week’s winner Travis Warling, Mackenzie Brewer and Matt Rolfe would all run hard in the top 5 while behind them Joshua Kotten, Clay Snider, Mike Belanger, Jarrett Lawrence, and Huston Hamer ran each other hard and swapped positions within the top 10 multiple times in the early laps.

On lap 20, Robinson would set to the outside of Boiros, and he would make the pass on the outside just as the first caution flew on the night, giving Robinson the lead. On the restart, he would jump out to the lead while Warling moved up into the second spot, with Brewer and Rolfe battling it out for 3rd ahead of Boiros who dropped to 5th.

A final restart would happen with just 4 laps to go, but a caution on lap 47 would end the race behind the caution car. On that final restart, Robinson would be able to jump out the lead, and would bring the field around under caution to pick up his 2nd career Legends victory, and first of the season. Behind him, Warling would hold onto 2nd with Rolfe finishing in the 3rd spot. Snider would work his way up to 4th after being shuffled to the back early in the race, and TJ Graves would also make his way back up to 5th after his rough start to the race.

  1. Derek Robinson
  2. Travis Warling
  3. Matt Rolfe
  4. Clay Snider
  5. TJ Graves
  6. Jarrid Boiros
  7. Joshua Kotten
  8. Mike Testa
  9. Jarrett Lawrence
  10. Charles Denny
  11. Mackenzie Brewer
  12. Mike Belanger
  13. Brian Gavin
  14. Ken Belanger
  15. Huston Hamer

Next week the series makes their first trip to Iowa to run the Infield Legends course for 60 laps.

For full results and standings, click HERE.