Majeski Takes Two At Richmond



The RB Performance Super Late Model Series finished out the opening week of the 2015 Summer Season, with a 115 lap event at the Richmond International Raceway. When the gates opened, 39 total drivers hit the track in preparation for the feature event.

Once trials got underway, Ty Majeski quickly topped the speed charts to set the fast time and he now joins Matt Rolfe as the all-time pole leader in SARA with 39 career poles. By grabbing the pole, Majeski led the top 8 drivers in time trials into the Qualifying Dash, and he would lead every lap of the Dash to take the win over Trey Jarrell. With the win, Majeski would be inverted back to 8th, while Joe Schaffer Jr. would get inverted to the front of the field for the feature race.

Schaffer led the field to the green flag, and controlled the lead for the first half of the race as drivers attempted to settle down early. On lap 52, the race got it’s first lengthy green flag run and it was at this point where it allowed drivers to show their strengths. On lap 59, Casey Kelley was the first driver to get a run on Schaffer and took over the lead, but that was short lived as Majeski had finally made his way through the front of the pack and he took over the top spot on lap 68. Jarrell followed him up into the 2nd spot, and on the final restart he would give Majeski one last attempt to steal the win, but Majeski was too strong and would hang on for the victory.

Jarrell finished out his strong run with a 2nd place finish, followed by Casey Kelley who ran inside the top five all race long and would take the 3rd spot. Casey Kelley would finish 4th after leading for a few laps during the middle of the race, while Parker Traves worked his way up into a top five finish. Cameron Hamilton and James Linkiewicz ran inside the top ten for most of the night before finishing 6th and 7th respectively, while Schaffer would finish 8th after leading the most laps early on in the race. Derek Robinson came from the 19 starting spot to grab 9th, while Darrell Hamlin moved up from 35th to grab a top ten finish. Matt Eddy was the big mover on the night, starting 38th and gaining 27 spots to finish 11th.

But for the 2nd night in a row, it was Ty Majeski who found victory lane, while leading 47 laps on his way to his 36th career SARA win. Majeski is currently the all-time wins leader in SARA, and with one more pole, he will take over the all-time lead in that category as well.