Majeski Hangs on For Legends Win at Oxford


Majeski_LegWin1The NEO Racing News Legends League headed way up north to the Oxford Plains Speedway in Maine for their 50 lap event at the 3/8 mile track. 19 drivers would take time during practice and 18 of them would start the race, with Matt Rolfe picking up the pole and James Poleske moving onto the front row when the 2nd place qualifier didn’t make the grid.

As the field took the green flag, Rolfe brought them around for the first lap in the lead. As they came off of turn two on lap two, Rolfe clipped the curb just a touch and when he chased it up the track it allowed Ty Majeski to sneak by on the bottom for the lead. But Rolfe wouldn’t give up and stayed glued to Majeski’s bumper for most of the race.

Behind them, the field settled in nicely as they logged green flag laps for most of the race. A nice battle developed for the 3rd spot as the run went on, when Brian Tedeschi would get by Poleske on lap 17. But on lap 35, the two drivers would switch spots again with Poleske moving back up into the 3rd position. As the run continued on, the field had spread out enough where it was tough to make up ground on other cars.

Up front though, the leaders began racing into lapped traffic. Rolfe slipped up allowing Majeski to finally get some breathing room in the lead. As the laps wound down, they would catch a larger pack of lapped traffic which could have made things interesting, but the caution came out with just 5 laps to go, ending the race under the yellow flag.

Majeski would come around to take the checkered and yellow flags, picking up his first SARA Legends win, and his 3rd career SARA overall win. Rolfe would end up finishing in 2nd and Poleske would hang on to the 3rd spot. Brian Tedeschi wound up 4th, with Joshua Kotten working up to the 5th spot. Clay Snider finished in the 8th spot, which was enough to still hang onto a 13 point lead in the standings.

  1. Ty Majeski
  2. Matt Rolfe
  3. James Poleske
  4. Brian Tedeschi
  5. Joshua Kotten
  6. Mike Belanger
  7. Jacob Liniewicz
  8. Clay Snider
  9. Travis Warling
  10. Mike Rhyno
  11. James Linkiewicz
  12. Evan Sorensen
  13. Ken Belanger
  14. Todd Cousins
  15. Patrick Hahe
  16. Jacob Beauchesne
  17. Tim Bills
  18. Brian Gavin
  19. Justin Brooks (DNS)

Next week the series returns to Charlotte for another road course race, this time on the 2.25 mile course instead of the tight infield course.

For full results and standings, click HERE.