Krikorian Charges to Win in Iowa



The MRolfeDesigns Pro Late Model Series took to the high-speed, 7/8-mile Iowa Speedway tonight for their week 7 event, to kick off the second half of their season. Last time out the division would have a tough race at Stafford, but this week they would put on quite a show during their 85-lap feature event. The series made a major change this week, removing their handicap starting grid and replaced it with normal qualifying with a random invert at the front of the field. Ty Majeski would set the quick time in qualifying with a time of 24.103 seconds, but an invert of 8 would drop him back to the 8th spot for the feature.

The invert would put Derek Robinson on the pole for the race, with points leader Brian Tedeschi in the second spot. As the field took the green flag, Robinson would jump out to lead the first 4 laps of the event, before Tedeschi was able to work by him and take over the top spot. As the first 20-lap run went on, Robinson would slip back, but behind the leader, Jeff Ramsdell, Ty Majeski, Bill Martin, and Kenny Lindsley would battle within the top 5.

After a self spin further back in the pack, the first restart would happen on lap 26, which would set up plenty of battles as drivers would look to make up as much ground on the restart as possible. Majeski made his way up to second and looked to hunt down Tedeschi in the lead. Tedeschi would get the jump on the next two restarts but as the runs would go on, Majeski would start to gain some time on the leader and he would eventually take over the lead on lap 46. Behind the battle for the top spot, one driver who was making his way up through the field from his 16th place starting spot, was David Krikoiran who had a strong car on the longer runs and worked his way up into 3rd around the same time Majeski took over the lead.

On lap 59, Krikorian would make his charge towards the leader and drove down to the inside of Majeski. The two of them would battle side-by-side for a number of laps, each trying to gain an edge and carry the momentum into the lead. As they came around for lap 62, Krikorian poked his nose ahead for the lead for the first time, and the caution would come out as they crossed the line next to each other, but the edge went to the #66 by a nose, giving him the lead for the following restart.

The biggest shake up of the night would come on the lap 67 restart. Krikorian got the jump on the outside groove, while Majeski would face pressure from behind. A couple of cars would get a run on Majeski and they would get together sending both of them into the outside wall right in front of Martin causing him to flip on his roof for the second time this week. With the field so close on the restart, a number of other cars would get collected as well ending some of their chances for a good finish.

Back up front though, Krikorian would once again jump out to the lead on the restart and pulled away from James Poleske, and would go on to pick up his first career Pro Late Model victory, and his 2nd career SARA victory. Poleske would finish off a strong run to end up 2nd on the night, while Stan Bragg would make a late charge up to the 3rd position after starting 23rd on the night. James Linkiewicz would end up 4th on the night, and Lindsley would recover from an earlier incident to end up rounding out the top 5. With Tedeschi getting caught up in the late wreck, and Lindsley picking up a top 5, Lindsley would take over the points lead by just 1 single point heading into week 8.

  1. David Krikorian
  2. James Poleske
  3. Stan Bragg
  4. James Linkiewicz
  5. Kenny Lindsley
  6. Clay Snider
  7. Mike Belanger
  8. Anthony Celentano
  9. Jacob Linkiewicz
  10. Darren Daves
  11. Russell Berry
  12. Jeff Ramsdell
  13. Vince Kuelbs
  14. Matt Rolfe
  15. Ken Belanger
  16. Bill Martin
  17. Dale Owen
  18. Mitchell Cowan
  19. Ty Majeski
  20. Brian Tedeschi
  21. Derek Robinson
  22. Todd Garren
  23. Jason Milley
  24. Scott Dunlap

Next week, all four divisions will head to the Langley Speedway, where the Pro Late Models will run a 125 lap feature event at the flat .395-mile track.

For the full results and standings, click HERE.