Jarrell Can’t Be Stopped at Stafford



The RB Performance Super Late Model Series stayed in Connecticut this week, coming off their week 5 event at Thompson last Thursday night. This week they would tackle the Stafford Motor Speedway for a 125 lap event on the flat half-mile track. 35 cars would take time in practice, with 32 of those drivers making qualifying laps to start off the night. The top 24 times from qualifying would get put into heat races to determine the starting lineup for the feature, while drivers 25th on back would be forced into a Last Chance Qualifier to advance 2 more cars into the feature.

Trey Jarrell started off by taking the lead early in the first heat race and went on to win, earning him the pole position in the feature event. In Heat #2, Brian Tedeschi started on the pole for it and went on to lead every lap which also put him on the front row for the feature. Fred Moreau led early in Heat #3, but after some contact with a couple of the front runners, Ty Spearman was able to get by and went on to win the third heat race. In the LCQ, Robert Matthews led the first couple of laps before Michael Rennebu got by him for the top spot. But just a few laps later, Matthews was able to get back by him to take over the lead, and went on to pick up the LCQ win. Rennebu would hold off a last lap attempt to hang on for the second transfer spot. The final two spots in the feature event, were given as provisionals based on points to Ken Belanger and Brandon Wilkinson to finish out the 28 car field.

When the feature rolled out, Jarrell would lead the field to the green flag, but the pace in the early laps of the race was slowed by a couple of cautions. Once the field got past lap 25, drivers began to settle and the race would get to see plenty of green flag action throughout the rest of the race. Once again Jarrell would jump out ahead on the restart. Tedeschi would fall in behind him and looked to keep pace with the leader for a number of laps, staying within a half-second of Jarrell, but Jarrell would begin to pull away as the run went on. Behind them, Jonathan Mawhinney ran up in the top 3, holding off other drivers such as Jacob Linkieiwcz, James Poleske, and Tyler Hudson.

The next caution wouldn’t come out until lap 55, and Hudson would give up his top 5 spot to come into the pits and make changer, moving Derek Robinson up into the top 5. As the race rolled on, Jarrell looked to have everything in control up front, while Tedeschi and Mawhinney also looked pretty content up in the top 3. Hudson was able to work back up towards the front pretty quickly, and took over the 2nd spot after a little contact with Tedeschi. Tedeschi would fall back, but would eventually recover for a good finish.

The final restart would come on lap 100, setting up a 25-lap run to the finish. Jarrell got the quick start once again while Hudson looked to track him down on this final run, and he would stay within a half of a second of the leader for a number of laps. However the speed of Jarrell proved to be too much as he eventually would start to extend his lead at the front of the field.

Jarrell would go onto pick up the victory by 1.5 seconds over Hudson, picking up his 5th win in 6 SLM races this season. The last few races, Jarrell had to come from deeper in the pack for his wins, but this time he would lead all 125 laps en route to the victory, extending his points lead to 136 points in the standings. Hudson would come around to finish 2nd, with Mawhinney on the podium in 3rd. Tedeschi was able to recover for a 4th place finish, passing Jacob Linkiewicz in the late laps who finished 5th.

  1. Trey Jarrell
  2. Tyler Hudson
  3. Jonathan Mawhinney
  4. Brian Tedeschi
  5. Jacob Linkiewicz
  6. Todd Garren
  7. R Trent Brown
  8. Derek Robinson
  9. Brandon Wilkinson
  10. Mike Belanger
  11. James Poleske
  12. Dale Owen
  13. Matt Rolfe
  14. James Linkiewicz
  15. Michael Rennebu
  16. Ken Belanger
  17. Matthew Eddy
  18. Stan Bragg
  19. Clay Snider
  20. Ty Spearman
  21. Jarrid Boiros
  22. Kenny Lindsley
  23. Bradley Skusa
  24. Fred Moreau
  25. Chase Briscoe
  26. Tim Bills
  27. Robert Matthews
  28. Dylan Schriner (DNS)

DNQ (50 Provisional Points): Russell Berry, Chris McLain, Aaron Walker, Kyle Wood

Next week the series visits the New Smyrna Speedway for another 125-lapper.

For the full results and standings, click HERE.