Laird Holds Off Krikorian For The Win And The Title



Cedar Lake Speedway
June 21, 2021

Last Monday night, the Midgets finished up their 2021 Spring Season with a 30-lap season finale at Cedar Lake.

Entering the night, JD Laird led the points standings by only 4 points over David Krikorian, as the two drivers had battled near the front of the field all season long. The two drivers started 6th and 7th on the grid, and it was Laird that gained the early advantage by getting ahead of Krikorian just three laps into the race.

Laird quickly worked his way to the lead, taking over the top spot by lap 7, but Krikorian was right behind him and followed him up to 2nd. From there, the two drivers would battle it out over the final 20 laps, with James Turnbull adding his name to the fight.

But as the laps clicked off, and the track slicked up, Laird continued to rip the top without giving Krikorian any shot at making a move. Laird would go on to lead the final 24 laps to take the victory, which would also secure him the championship.

Congratulations to JD Laird, the 2021 Spring Season Champion!
Laird’s season consisted of 12 starts, 4 victories, 10 top fives, 12 top tens, 99 laps led, and 3 heat race wins.

Midgets Race Summary – 30 Laps

Heat Race Winner: Beau Brannon

Race Winner: JD Laird – Started 7th, 24 laps led, 5th career SARA win
Margin of Victory: -0.157 seconds
Top Five: David Krikorian (2nd), James Turnbull (3rd), Clay Snider (4th), Russell Berry (5th)