Spearman Capitalizes For Volusia Clash Victory


This past Wednesday night, the Dirt Late Model Series ran the second event of their season, and the first official league race at the Volusia Speedway Park in the 75-lap Volusia Clash.

Race Winner – For the first 30 laps of the race, it was a battle between Kenneth Drake and Christian Pedersen out front, but when the two leaders got together down the backstretch it opened the door for Ty Spearman to slip by up the inside with a 3-wide move for the lead. Spearman would lead from there to the finish, holding off a late charge by Pedersen, but it was Spearman that would go back-to-back for his 23rd career SARA win.

Heat Winners – Christian Pedersen came from 4th in Heat Race 1 to take the win, while Zak Rounds would lead from green-to-checker in Heat Race 2.

Hard Charger – After an incident in his Heat Race which resulted in him starting 17th for the A-Main, Seth DeMerchant charged from deep in the field to finish on the podium with a 3rd place run, gaining 14 spots on the night.

Biggest Losers – Matt Rolfe, John Lyday, and Joe Schaffer Jr. were each caught up in early race crashes that resulted with them each losing 7 spots on the night.

Title Fight – With back-to-back victories, Ty Spearman extends his early points lead over the field, but the series will be off next week for iRacing’s Week 13, so we’ll see if anyone has what it takes to knock Spearman off the top step after the break.

Sprint Series Division Page
Penalty Box