Rolfe Kicks Off Dirt SLM Season With Win


The Dirt Late Model Series moved up from the Pro to the Super Late Model, and began their season on Wednesday night with a 75-lap feature at the Eldora Speedway.

Race Winner – Matt Rolfe worked his way under Ty Spearman with 21 laps to go, and held off the field on a late restart to pick up the opening night victory, his 28th career SARA win.

Race Summary – Travis McKinney looked strong for the first 50 laps of the race, often pulling away out front until Ty Spearman moved up into second and began chasing him down. As the two battle, some major netcode contact would see the two leaders get together, ending McKinney’s race, while Spearman was able to keep the lead. But on the ensuing restart, Matt Rolfe would work his way under the damaged Spearman car, and took the lead, and led the final 21 laps on his way to victory.

Heat Winners – Ty Spearman, Chris Watkins, and Travis McKinney each benefitted from the random draw and won their respective Heat Races from the pole. With 27 cars attempting to qualify, a B-Feature was required to help set the field, and Derek Robinson was able to take victory.

Hard Charger – Tim Bills started back in the 14th spot, and made forward progress all night long and worked his way up to a top five finish, gaining 9 spots on the night.

Title Fight – Matt Rolfe took the opening night victory, and leads the standings after Week 1 by just 4 points.

Up Next – The Dirt Late Model Series will travel to the Volusia Speedway Park for a 75-lap feature in Week 2.

Late Model Series Division Page
Penalty Box


Combined Standings